U500CV-UMK

49" 4K UHD TV

  • 3840 x 2160 UHD Resolution
  • 3 x HDMI Ports (HDMI 2.0 x 1)
  • HDCP 2.2
  • Support MHL function
  • SRS TruSurround HD
Bazaar Voice Logo

TOP POSITIVE REVIEW

By On July 12 00:00:00, 2018

Terrific picture quality and not the best sound, but adequate. Days of spending 1000's on the "brand" names for me is over. These units are like cell phones, 3-4 years and replace them. For 249.00 if I can get 5 years from this TV i'll look at it as if i rented it for 50 bucks a year!

Reviews

Rating Snapshot

  • 5
    111
  • 4
    26
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    1
  • 1
    0

Average Customer Ratings

  • Overall
    4.79
  • Quality of Product
    4.8
  • Value of Product
    4.96

     

?
SORT BY:
2018-07-12

Super Nice

Terrific picture quality and not the best sound, but adequate. Days of spending 1000's on the "brand" names for me is over. These units are like cell phones, 3-4 years and replace them. For 249.00 if I can get 5 years from this TV i'll look at it as if i rented it for 50 bucks a year!

2018-06-27

49"Sceptre TV

the picture is great. I am still learning how to use all the features

2018-06-26

I like everything -product quality, price and speedy delivery.

Reviewer 2018-03-30

Great value

You won’t, at the time of writing, find a 4k tv at this price. Good size, good picture. Overall solid. Poor sound but that’s expected from modern TVs. Remote could be better but again, great value. A little too much of the backlight showing through but it’s just a magnificent price so you deal with the small flaws. Overall, it’s great and I hope it lasts a while

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2017-03-13

Great TV

This TV met or exceeded my expectations. For the price, you can not buy a TV with all of its features anywhere else. I read previous reviews of this TV prior to buying it, and I agree with all of the positive reviews that are out there. Would highly recommend this TV!!

2017-02-24

Love it

Got this tv for my bedroom its perfect great tv beautiful

2017-02-22

Sceptre tv

I have only had the Sceptre a few days but I am very impressed with the picture quality. The sound is fine. The tv was packaged with care. Also impressed w.ith the delivery . The box it was contained in was in perfect condition when delivered. All in all, a great product at a great price.

ricketts22 2017-01-04

Great as a Giant Monitor

I use this primarily as a Computer monitor but also for some console gaming. Picture looks great in 4K and 1080p. Recommend getting a sound bar or surround sound if you‘re going to be using it for home theater.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2016-11-22

Five Stars

It works beautiful. Right place and right time.

2016-09-30

Five Stars

Better than expected, especially at that price.

Cameron 2016-08-24

So sad

I wish Xbox one S 4k worked on it. So very upsetting.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Vicious Vinnie 2016-05-05

Great TV

I could not believe the price on this TV, it was hundreds less than anything close to it spec. wise and it‘s just beautiful to look at. It even allows for mirroring your MHL compatible smart phone through one of its HDMI ports

Number of TVYes

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2016-03-03

Great TV, Very happy!

I bought this TV around the holidays and couldn't be happier.  I haven't thrown anything 4K at it yet, but it handles TV, movies, and PS4 beautifully!

2016-03-02

Good job Walmart

Like the tv. Good service at the counter. Hard to beat...

2016-03-01

Unexpected Value

For the price -- $379, plus sales tax -- the Sceptre 49" 4K ultra HD television is an exceptional bargain. Once set up to optimize the set's picture, viewing is a pleasure. Sound is through a 5.1 surround system, and I have not tried the set's internal speakers. The owner's manual is well done, clear and easy to understand. Set up was straightforward. In short, kudos to Walmart for having this 4K set available at an amazing price.

2016-02-28

Fabulous TV & Monitor

Worked exactly as advertised, no muss, no fuss, plugged in and it worked perfectly; great picture.

Enzo 2016-02-16

Was skeptic at first

When searching for a 49-50 inch TV it came down to two options for a $400 budget. Buy a $400 1080p name brand, or spend it on a 4k tv sceptre. I did both, side by side. The choice was easy. After owning it for 3 days, I‘m still tweaking the picture, but I‘ve got it down pretty good. If you‘re a tech junkie read on, or if you wanna get detailed. Here‘s what I‘ve noticed is of value or lack thereof. The sound is actually pretty good for any TV. Look, a 10w speaker is a 10w speaker. It has equalizer settings too! Also it‘s Cec enabled! If you don‘t know what it is, its awesome! Just Google (CEC enabled). Makes using your Chromecast better. This TV is one of the few that‘s non smart and 4k. So you dont pay for extras you don‘t need. It is only 60hz refresh rate, HOWEVER, the memc120 feature mimics 120hz well. Gives it that kinda 3d type look. That, in addition to a 4k display is great in itself. Beats any top notch 1080p 120hz TV. MHL feature is great, but outdated and rarely used unless you do computer stuff a lot. Gaming is OK. Fps games have slight lag, but its no excuse for a negative KDR. Zombies work well on it, and 2k16 is awesome. VIEWING ANGLE!!! You can tell it‘s an edge lit TV. It‘s not a deal breaker, and you have to be PICKY to see it, but its viewing angle isn‘t as great as some other tvs I‘ve owned. And the mimic of 120hz has some lag, again its small, but no deal breaker. Best thing is, Walmart gives you 90days. More than any other store. I won‘t even worry about extended warranty. At this price and this early stage in 4k content, its likely there will be a new batch before it‘s available everywhere. This is just a better option than spending $400(379) on any 1080p TV. I read tons of reviews and still contemplated buying it. Sure was worth it, if you‘re "one of those" people, this review is for you, and I recommend this TV to you.

Number of TVYes

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
petemd 2016-02-14

enjoyed it! great price

let me start by saying that its not the best tv out there. let me follow that up with that im not rich. with what i can afford and what i got in return, i would say i got a great buy. I just needed a tv for my room. we already have an expensive tv in the living room. i love that now i stay more in my room. hooked up a bose speaker and it feels like i have a cinema in my room. bottom line is that it works for what i need. 379 is not a bad at all for a 49inch 4k uhd.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
D K P 2016-02-08

what I wanted & hoped for

I‘ve had mine since Dec 13‘ 2014; it was perfect out of the box, no problems ever. Ordered it from Walmart for $479 with a 4 year warranty. I wanted a Dumb 4K because I‘m an IT Professional; I use it with 4-way KVM Switch connecting a Dell PE6600 server, 2 desktops and a new Ultra-High-End tower; which has a 12GB Titan video card (connected via HDMI 2.0 - video & Optical cable for sound), 6-core 3.5 GHZ & 32GB Ramm. It provides true 4K to this TV. I installed an LG Bluray & also have a Pioneer BDP-FD05 Elite Bluray player. I didn‘t expect to use the TVs 10W speakers; so I bought a Samsung Curved 360 watts Soundbar / Subwoofer combo at the same time (customer return at Walmart $150). The combination would put many $6,000 UHDs to shame. I‘ve found a dozen 4K Mastered Blurays on EBAY and they‘re worth the money. But hands down the best is AVATAR, a standard B/R disc. I previously had this all hooked to a 65" Mitsubishi Diamond TV; there is no need to compare them; the Sceptre wins hands down. I travel and spend most of my time in Extended Stay Hotels; this lightweight model is perfect, the 22lbs is much lighter than the 21" Tube Monitor started with. NOTE; internet is very seldom able to stream 25MBPS so I closed my Netflix account. This is not a flaw in the TV. Remote works best with fully charged batteries; which is no big deal since switched to Rechargables years ago. I simply swap them to a different device when it acts up and put in fully charged ones again. I am considering buying another; or more likely a 65" Sceptre; though I was hoping the 80 would be ready soon. The best investment I‘ve ever made !!!!!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
domllama 2016-01-27

Overall great entry 4K TV

We needed to replace our TV in our household. This TV had everything we needed and more. 4k, HDMI 2.0 port and multiple HDMI standard ports. I will say the sound is not impressive so you should opt for the soundbar or a home audio system. We have a 4k home audio system so this was not a problem at all and pairs well with the TV since we can utilize the HDMI 2.0 port and use our home audio receiver as the HDMI switch. Overall this TV is a great investment, that after awhile we will upgrade to another Sceptre TV and move this to another spot in the house to enjoy for many more years.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
MissionTV 2016-01-13

Fancy TV w/o fancy prize

So I finally got myself a fancy TV, without the fancy prize. The Sceptre U500CV is all around what worked for me... and maybe for you. I did plenty of research and I think this TV met what I was looking for in size, quality and PRIZE. Overall, mission accomplished.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
shwnbn 2016-01-06

Great Value for the Price

We bought this as a Christmas Present for our son. Decent Television. Picture is good, sound is OK. Paid $350 for the Television and can say I couldn‘t find a better bargain anywhere. Does it rival the higher dollar models...no, but for the price it was much better than expected. We have a 50 in 1080 p Sony Bravia and the picrure is just as good as the 4k on this model. Was a little disappointed that the box and display says 120 hz but the Television is only 60 hz. 120hz will be important when outputting certain 4k devices. Still..you can‘t find a 50 inch TV that has the features that this does, 4k AND 50 inch for $350. No matter the shortcomings, that‘s a really really Great Deal!!!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
randywade 2015-12-28

Great TV for the price!

Great TV for a great price. Looks great with my amazon fire tv. Also I love gaming on it! PS4 looks beautiful and I‘m so glad I was able to get it for an affordable price

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-12-28

Value

Excellent picture quality, easy setup. The sound not the greatest,but with a sound bar or home theater setup makes a really good tv experience.

2015-12-27

Excellenct tv for thw price

I paid 350.00 for this tv awesome picture again for the price i would say it would rival tvs three times its price not really sure if its tru 4k since i dont have any 4k content but 1080p looks amazing and again for 350.00 you just can barely buy a brand name tv of this size. I hooked up my retiana display macbook and it did look like 4k quality love this tv

2015-12-27

Best 4K TV

For the price, this Spectre 49" 4K TV can't be beat. Picture is unbelievably sharp, sound is outstanding, and set-up was easy. Also, great for chromecasting movies. Highly recommend; get one NOW at this price, $350.

2015-12-25

Great buy

Everything is great but the speakers. Will buy another one

2015-12-22

ultra HD Rocks

Awesome picture, Glad I have a sound bar. Great Value.

rosie 2015-12-21

The picture is wonderful

I bought this TV for my husband about a month ago. He loves it and I couldn‘t believe the price. The sound quality could be better but the picture is awesome and I can afford to by the speaker system he wants now.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-12-17

tv

Excellent picture, sound and price

jliles54 2015-12-13

great tv

I have been a fan of sceptre products for many years. I saw this on sale online and had to buy it. best Tv i have owned

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
AJones 2015-12-12

Great TV!

This is really a great TV at a great price. I purchased it due to the reviews and I‘m happy I did. Looking to purchase another one soon.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Dwayne 2015-12-11

Excellent Purchase

We had a 46" Philips that died after 3 years...looked around and stumbled on this 4K at a very reasonable price. I hooked up the BluRay player to test it out and Wow! the picture is incredible...we have a PS4 and Xbox One in the house so I am anxious to see how those look as they are actual 4K devices...Good Job Sceptre...another satisfied customer...

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-12-11

Awesome TV for a great price.

I rely like this TV.the picture is awesome right out of the box although I like to set my own settings.the sound is good but I hooked up a surround sound for the full theater experience.Overall this is an awesome buy that can't be beat for a 4K tv this size for the price

2015-12-09

So far so good

I have previously purchased a sceptre and have had a good experience with it so I decided to purchase another one. The price could not be beaten for the quality. I took out a 4 year warranty on it just in case any issue arise. I would expect to get at least 6-8 years out of it and if that is the case then it will be a steal.

Brandy 2015-12-08

SETUP A PIECE OF CAKE !!!!!

I have never had an easier time setting up a electronic device. Even setting the remote where I just used the one for my cable and it let me connect with no trouble at all. Thank you!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-12-08

Great Tv

For the price this TV is a steal. Great quality and a great variety of settings and it has 4K so when that programming becomes more main stream I won't have to buy another TV. My last sceptre lasted 8 years before I started having issues with it. If this one can last that long I would be amazed.

2015-12-07

Sounds great and looks amazing.

Mainly used to play Playstation the quality and sound is amazing. Easy to setup out the box.

2015-12-06

Sceptre U500CV-UMK 49" 4K Ultra HD TV $379.99

This was a “Black Friday” purchase at 3:30 A.M. Frankly, I wanted the same make in 55”, but the site was crashing, so many people wanted the 55”. So, I ordered the 49”, and that took about 5 tries, but I got it for $350.00. The TV is GREAT! I am completely satisfied, no, overjoyed with this set. Both the picture and sound are exceptional. The manual is written so anyone can understand and the set-up is simple. Just be sure to read the manual. My only regret is that I could not get this TV in the 55” model for $450.00.

Gray Mouser 2015-12-04

wOw!

I bought the Sceptre 4K U500CV TV to replace a $3,000 GEN 1 Samsung 55" 1080P TV that had succumbed to HDMI changes that forced me to use component connectors (it was time to step UP, anyhow). Setup was a snap. Connected HDMI 2 to DishNet box and HDMI 1 to a Roku 4, and an optical digital cable from the TV to my Visio 39" sound bar. What‘s not to like? What an outstanding unit! Being a color perfectionist, I had to warm up the color balance a tad, but for the price I paid, no big deal. I have already recommended this TV to several friends. My only problem now is how do I get rid of my old, 90-pound dinosaur Samsung without breaking my back? BUY ME!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-12-04

Brilliant television!!

This tv is absolutely phenominal! It hasa stunning picture quality, unfortunately i have not been able to view anything in 4k yet but once i do, I'm sure it will be stunning! Once you adjust the sound settings and the picture to your liking, this is one of the best tv's on the market. A major reason i bought yhis brand was the price. A top of the line picture quality for under $400?! You just cant beat that! If you're looking for a great tv for a fraction of the cost of the name brands, look no further than this 49" Sceptre 4k ultra hd television!

Billie 2015-12-03

Great TV for the Price

Amazing picture quality. Easy to set up and use. My only complaint is the sound is not good. But we hooked it up to an old stereo receiver with speakers and now it‘s amazing! Will probably upgrade to a sound bar at some point, but need to learn that technology first to know what to look for.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Chefinbama 2015-12-02

Great picture

Bought as gift....great picture and price...

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
danathema 2015-12-01

Great features & amazin value

I bought this about 3 weeks ago and I love it. I almost bought a non-UHD tv for more money! THis TV rocks. I use it mostly as a monitor w/ my computer and w/ some cable tv. I ended up changing the pre-progammed settings, and now it is perfect! Btw, this unit arrived without the tuner. THere was a square empty space on the side of the and TV where the cable input should have been. I called customer service the lady new exactly what I was talking about and they sent me the part -- i got it in 2 days. No charge. Great customer service

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Shauna 2015-12-01

Beautiful picture

Beautiful picture and easy to set up.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-12-01

outstanding

Picture is excellent, sound is good. Easy to set up. Absolutely the best money I spent this year

jujohn 2015-11-30

good value

a good product well worth the money

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-11-29

Great TV at a great price

Where else can you get an ultra-high-definition TV of this size at this price? Sure it's not a "smart" TV but for $35 you can add Google Chromecast and get the same functionality. It's a winner in my book

2015-11-29

Sceptre TV

The television picture is excellent. Until I get can get a 4 K transmission feed, however, I won't know just how good. It currently looks a little better than by other HDTV picture screens but not much. The sound is not good. Hooking the TV up is easy and the product was delivered quickly. I'm still amazed that this tv is so inexpensive.

2015-11-29

Sceptre U500CV-UMK 49"

Very good TV for the money. If you don't want a "smart" TV, this is worth considering.

2015-11-28

Sceptre 49in 4k

First off, i purchased this tv on saturday and received it by the following wednesday so shipping was very fast and hassle free. I have to admit i was skeptical at first, being so cheap and all, but upon taking it out of the box the build quality really surprised me. Very nice overall. The picture is crisp and clear with no noticable bleeding as others have stated. Its hooked up to my xbox one and looks fantastic. Netflix is where it really shines as shows just look phenomenal. Sure its not 120 hz ,but really for the price and all the features including 4k, you cant go wrong. 5 stars

2015-11-28

LOVE IT!!!

I did all my own research, and read the reviews that others had left about this television. I decided to take a chance on an unknown (couldn't find in store to compare to other televisions) and do not regret my decision for a minute. Picture is great and once you tweak the sound, I have no problems with it. The price was amazing for a 4K tv...and I am glad that I found it.

2015-11-24

Sceptre TV 4K.

Easy put up Scanned stations and began to watch CRYSTAL clear picture using a $14 indoor antenna. far superior to my 5 year old VIZIO.

2015-11-21

Had my doubts and was completely wrong!!

First off let me start this review off with the fact that like most who have looked at this tv or purchased it that I was extremely worried that it would be terrible. Boy was I completely wrong!! This tv is amazing in everyway. From the setup to the actual resolution. I am so happy I bought this! Right out of the box it looked amazing. Took about 6 minutes to screw the stand in and plug it in and BOOM! amazing quality HD...especially when I hooked my blu ray player up! Must have for anyone who wants a new tv and doesn't want to spend $2,000 on a 4k. Remember, the worse 4k is still better than a 1080z

New England Senior 2015-11-20

MAGNIFICENT Product!

I bought this product on the reviews available online trusting what I saw, and so glad I did! This 4k UHD Television has a wonderful picture quality! The sound is even better than the reviews I read! Once adjusted, the sound came through great! The 4k Picture in total I have yet to really see from an available 4k streaming source, but I can say that the HD 1080P source looks better than my other previous HD 1080p television!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-11-20

Take the Chance! GREAT 4K UHD!!

Just received this television after taking the chance trusting the reviews we saw, and "WOW", what a TV for the money! We are SO glad that we took a chance at this for the amount it cost! Setup was easy! The Picture, even on mere HD channels after adjustment is wonderful! The sound quality, after setup and tweaking is REALLY High Quality, SRS Surround expansive! I really think that they have a winner and prove it true, that you CAN find great quality for LOW COST!! If you're looking for a 4K UHD for a great low price, this is it!

2015-11-18

Crystal Clear Picture

This is the best quality picture I have purchased to date. Thank you for creating this 4K tv.

2015-10-27

Sceptre U500-UMK 49" Ultra HD

I bought the Sceptre Ultra HD, because I had already bought two models previously-a 32: and a 40". Actually, the same day I picked up the Sceptre 49", I sold the 32" to a coworker and I contacted him this weekend to find out how he liked the TV and he thanked me for selling him the TV, because he says the picture is so clear and crisp. He has a Vizio and the Sceptre shows just as good of a picture. So I have been aware of how good the Sceptre LED HD TVs perform. Now don't go out and raise the price because you have a good product. That has been partly why I've patronized your product and when guest come over they can't believe the product name on the TV.

2015-10-24

3 months later...Compliments on the picture are still coming in! 4 times from my wife too

Bought this TV in July 2015[3 months ago] to replace a SCEPTRE 1080 TV[4 years,still excellent picture]

Sound is terrible. A soundbar you will likely add at some time. Keep in mind the $800UP TVs typically have subpar sound.

EXCELLENT PICTURE. I am getting compliments for buying this TV even today.
The Internet is full of lots of back and forth chat about;how 4K isnt 4K, theres not much 4K, some 1080 TVs have better pictures than 4K TVs, 'spend $800 up and get a real 4K'..

The picture is EXCELLENT,GORGEOUS. I use this 99% for TV/Roku. When i hook my computer to the TV HDMI inputs,i go to the website of the Cape Cod canal web cam. The passenger bridge in the background is over 1 mile away, i can see the cars going over the bridge.

The brand SCEPTRE? I nought a SCEPTRE TV 4, 5 years ago,1080 hdtv,still working as a second TV

SUMMARY: It is a basic 4K HDTV with poor sound and an excellent 4K picture, A 1080 TV picture looks like a standard TV picture compared to this TV's picture.
4K HDTV IS STILL IN THE DEVELOPMENT STAGES. Dont overspend for a 4K that might be outdated when 4K matures. Would not pay over $500 though because you will need at least $50 for a soundbar

2015-09-15

Great TV for the money

Only have had this tv for a week but LOVE it. This replaced a 50" Panasonic plasma. It is a nicer TV by far for about $200 less. It's not a smart tv but I just bought a blue ray player instead so no big deal. The first one came with a crack in the screen which really stunk but Walmart sent a new one immediately and it has been great. A lot of people say that the sound is not that good but I have not personally noticed that. I'm not using a sound bar.

Protectnor 2015-09-12

Excellent TV!

I bought this tv about a month ago from Tiger Direct. The picture quality is amazing, and the quality of the product is awesome, especially for it‘s price point. Thanks Scepter!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-08-27

Great Product

Excellent product for the price offered.

2015-08-24

OK in HD

Performance as far as color rendition and HD image is Acceptable. Finding 4K/UHD content is limited. Very few 4K dvd's available. Cable TV has virtually no 4K programming. The price is right.

2015-08-17

Sceptre-U500CV-UMK-49-4K-Ultra-HD-60Hz-C

Excellent TV. No sound issues. Great picture.

2015-08-10

Exceptional Value

Upon set-up, I was concerned about the low-end refresh rate and how it would translate for action movies and sports. The Cox HD cable connection proved to be adequate and the Hall of Fame football game broadcast in HD confirmed that the sophistication of the 4K technology compensated nicely for the 60-refresh rate with no distortion or tears in the images. I purchased this unit for a friend, and while I would've preferred to have seen it perform on a Directv HD connection with an HD broadcast I have at home, it did the job. Where else can you get a 49" HD 4K unit for less than $500 out the door? No where but Walmart. Comparable 4K TV's are at least twice the price. Scepter is manufactured by Sony, and I recently learned that it's Walmart's best-selling model. Now that I've seen it for myself, I can understand why.

2015-08-09

Great Color

Easy Set-up, very light, great picture after tweaking it. Not a Smart TV, but the price is great on a 4K. Very limited 4K media right now. Has a optical output for my soundbar. The stand is strange but very functional.

2015-07-31

Great TV for the price

I am not a tech guy, but I was able to be up and running in 15 minutes. The setup instructions are very simple and easy to follow. The picture is very clear. The audio took some adjustment, but it is easy to do. The factory settings for audio were way off for my wife and I. My last TV was a plasma and this TV has a better picture and is much lighter in weight.

2015-07-30

GREAT UHD TV

I've owned Sceptre electronic products for several years now and have never had a problem with them in performance or in it's quality. The high definition is crystal clear as is the sound. It's sleek design and style make it easy to display with home decor. The external rear component connections are easy to read & identify for HDMI/Cable connection. I'd easily compare it to the other brands in Quality & Assurance. The price can't be beat. Ordering it through the Site-to-Store could not have been any easier too. I was kept up to date via email on it's progress from it's order to shipping to receiving. To being notified that it was ready for pick up.

2015-07-29

Sceptre U500CV-UMK 4K UltraHD 60 HZ

TV is very good.....no problems. Colors are good, setup was easy. Worth the money. It is not a smart tv......no built in wifi.....but a good value for the price.

sir knight 2015-07-27

Great TV

Surprised the family with this new flat screen... everyone is happy! Amazed at what we got for the price. Highly recommend.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Steph 2015-07-21

COMPETE WITH THE BEST

I bought this a week ago and I love it my friends love it. And by the way all those that say game play is lacking, don‘t know what they are talking about. I played multiple game Crysis 1 2 and 3 Battlefield 3 COD and others and they all look great even at 30 hz. Can‘t wait to get a 60 hz video cards and really rock those games. Thank you

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Brand

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
GroundLevel 2015-07-20

Amazing 4K TV

Before buying i researched this TV along with other 4K UHD TVs and after comparing the Specs and price this was the clear choice the set up is really quick and easy with some minor picture adjustment this TV display is Amazing i did add a Sound Plate to enhance the overall sound i‘m looking forward to enjoying 4K content. Thank You Sceptre

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-07-16

Great TV

This TV is great and Ultra HD! You cannot beat this price for a 50 inch Ultra HD television. Thanks Sceptre and Walmart.

2015-07-16

Very,very,very happy with this TV and purchase

Very,very,very happy with this TV and purchase. Before the TV arrived I got scolded at home from my significant other for buying a new TV After i ordered online BUT BEFORE this TV arrived, I got told: [paraphrased]: 'We have a 40" Sceptre HDTV1080 that we bought 4 years ago that is doing fine' 'we dont need a new TV' 'we can spend the money on bills' 'your kidding me you ordered one[A NEW TV]' After the TV arrived, Within 48 hours my significant other was praising me about the new TV[paraphrased] 'you did good this time' 'the picture is so clear' 'i love it' Of course if i had 3 times the amount of money to spend on a 4K TV i would likely have bought a LG or Vizio or Samsung but i dont, BUT also, i have read a good number of 'unhappy customer reviews' on those 4K name brands My philosophy/thinking was this: the worse 4K picture quality is better than the best 1080HDTV picture quality Turned out to be true when i compared my 1080HDTV picture to the 4K picture. Also what played into my thinking to buy the TV, i know the return policy is as close as the nearest Walmart without the shipping hassles if the picture was not so great,etc. [The picture is great] Some drawbacks, there is not much 4K media available but doesn't matter, the 4K picture is still much much better than a 1080hdtv picture on non 4K media/TV programs Sound is not great but i read the sound is not great on the $1000-2000 TVs The stand does not twist to the right or left. By the way, my still working perfectly-find Sceptre 40" TV , i donated to the local animal shelter

2015-07-12

So Far It's Great

I've only had the tv less than a week. The set up was very easy and the picture is fantastic. Time will tell as to whether the quality is there or not.

RED47 2015-07-09

Budget price tv

Don‘t let the budget price fool you this is a good tv picture is good sound is average. You can pay twice the price for a big name brand but why would you.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Bimmer 2015-07-01

Absolutely Fantastic!

I bought this TV 1 1/2 months ago and mostly use as a monitor for graphic work and watching movies on Netflix... I love this TV... Wonderful picture even without 4K signal. It‘s thin and light weight which is perfect. Easy set-up... At $430 it‘s an absolute bargain. I have my 5.1 surround computer speaker hooked up to it plus have it set-up so when I turn use it as a TV the audio goes thru my computer speakers... Love it!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Tony J 2015-06-28

Great TV for low cost

I just purchased this to replace my not quite 4 yrs old Toshiba that went belly up.I figured for $400 plus maybe it would last at least as long as the one that cost twice that.It has a great picture,I checked out some of the 4K movies on Netflix that I run thru a blu-ray player it the picture is amazing.Way to go Sceptre!!!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
DaGreatGatsby 2015-06-25

Very Nice TV!!

I love my Sceptre TV. The pictures are clear and the colors are vivid. It‘s a good looking TV; thin glossy bezels with a chrome logo. I like that there are 3 HDMI inputs with labels indicating which one to use. HDMI 1 is 4K @ 60 Hz which is fantastic. The build quality is top notch. I checked and I don‘t have a single dead pixel nor any dark regions. The price for a TV of this caliber makes it an incredible value.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-06-21

Awesome

This is the best bargain out there. Perfect picture and what a price. After some research about the brand and then finding out Sony makes it I bought one and was blown away by the picture. I will up grade every tv in the house to one.

Lee52 2015-06-17

Nice TV for 4K UHD

Easy setup, nice picture even though I don‘t have 4K programming yet. This was an upgrade from a 720p tv I have. So far, so good.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-06-17

sceptre u500cv-umk49"

works great,great buy for the money

2015-06-09

Our second Sceptre

Bought this size of television, because we have a 32" Sceptre we bought a couple of years ago and it has been a great television. So far we are happy with this 49" Sceptre TV. After tweaking the sound adjustments we added a sound bar. Now, it sounds and looks great. Will followup after we have used the TV for a year.

2015-06-06

At 4k, massive upgrade from 1080p

I like this tv a lot, I have my computer through it as a monitor since I don't have cable and the picture is amazing at 4k. I had a 1080p Seiki, and I liked that one, this one has better color and contrast, it's brighter and the speakers are louder and clearer. The bezel is thinner by a lot and the stand is minimal on my desk. I can still use my desk around the stand without setting things on the stand. Easy to set up, the menus are sufficient to get you to a good picture which isn't too bad out of the box, but with some tweaking is pretty good.

2015-06-02

Excellent Value

I purchased this tv based on the reviews of others and am glad I did! I was looking for a larger screen without the high price tag. My husband and I are on a fixed income so I have to watch my pennies. The picture is phenomenal. Clear and sharp. I set the tv up myself and coke machines challenge me so this is an easy set up. I had a 40" tv in place of this one so I just moved them around in the house and this is in my living room. It is a great size for the room. (18 x 21) It is not a smart tv, but, as said before in the reviews, you can make it one by connecting (I have the Amazon Fire)one of the accessories out there. I have a Blue Ray dvd player connected as well as my Fire tv and everything works great. the sound is much better than the 32 in Sceptre I have in the bedroom, and I am going to set up a sound bar just to see what happens. Hopefully, I am one step ahead with the Ultra 4K as I know there isn't a lot out there yet.

2015-05-31

Sceptre 49" Ultra HDTV

Very nice tv with excellent picture & sound. Would have been better to have been able to see one in the local store instead of having to order it online only!! If the customer could see & hear it in the store I think that they would sell a lot more of them but then the higher priced tv's would sell less..

2015-05-31

Best 4k tv in a budget price

I was little sceptical when i chose this tv but now that i have it,it is just spectacular and amazing!You get the true 4k picture and video,also the sound quality is not bad either,although i use a blueray soundbar! Buy this and you will love it,one advice leave the picture setting to Vivid!

Marcel 2015-05-30

Great Value!

It‘s easy to set up and the color is stunning. For $429 it‘s a great value.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Smart shopper 2015-05-29

Good tv at a great price

Just got it set up..am happy with the 1080 resolution picture...but dissatisfaction in regards to the programming available I have direct tv and to receive there 1,4k channel is about $300 in box upgrades plus a ridiculous monthly fee..but happy I purchased 4 k someday programming will be available at a reasonable price happy with the1080 picture can‘t wait to view 4k at home

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-05-29

4K DEVISE GREAT TV

THE IMAGE IS SO STRIKING ONE NEEDS THIS TV ON IN ADDITION TO THE 50 INCH 1080i PLASMA DEVICE FOR REALITY

jose jr 2015-05-25

Crear image

Its a great price for a UHD tv. The image is so clear, its a gret deal.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-05-23

one month review

The TV is a great value if you have HD channel's. We have all HD channel's and the picture looks best in the dynamic setting. Some shows don't look as good as others, but the ones in true 1080 that get up converted look stunning. The only downside is the remote it is temperamental. I am going to call for replacement. For a cheap sceptre TV you can't go wrong and the box packaging is like that of a high dollar tv

2015-05-22

works well with my lenovo 4k laptop

Yea it makes for a huge monitor, and it is awesome to watch movies.

iggybob85 2015-05-18

Awesome TV Hands down

I have been waiting for months to buy one of these tv‘s and let me tell you it has paid off. I have not been more happier with the quality for the price, and the fact that it comes with srs trusurround HD. This is awesome!! It works really on tv antenna channels as well. Great job Sceptre!!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-05-17

Inexpensive 4K

Got this on sale. I have not hooked this up to a 4K source so I can not comment on that. Good color, picture, etc. 120 HZ. You may want a higher rate.

March 2015-05-12

Great Tv

Great price for a 4K TV I like the picture, but the sound cheap and tinney

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-05-11

Good bang for the buck

We got this tv about 4 months ago and so far, so good. It has plenty of inputs for all of our gadgets and it's easy to setup ect. I have noticed that when we watch cartoons, Family Guy, Bob's Burgers, & Southpark, that some of the brighter greens bleed. I will add that we do not have an HD cable package and we use a cable cord because our cable box doesn't offer HDMI output. To sum it up I would say that this a good tv for the price and I have no regrets so far.

Winedude 2015-04-22

Good Purchase !

Have had this TV for just over two months and am now using it as my default television. Had initial problems with the picture freezing and pixellating but after a suggestion by a friend to tighten all connections it turned out the coax on the cable box was the problem ! Duhh ! Now the picture quality is superb and as it is connected to an AV receiver sound is perfect ! Also like the look of it - it is so light compared to many of it‘s competition ! Got it on sale so that helped too !!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
kutty 2015-04-20

Awsome TV

I just bought this TV last week and really impressed with its picture quality and other advanced features! It can be compared to any of the big brand names feature for feature and at a very less price! I am still trying to set up my Roku and other add ons on this amazing TV but I don‘t have a doubt that I will enjoy this one for a long time!

Number of TVYes

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Kenneth 2015-04-16

Excellent TV.

I bought this TV and I find that it is as good or better than the major brand names.Excellent picture and sound. Very happy customer!! It has excellent features and would sell a lot more if it was carried at the local Wal-mart store so customers could see what an excellent product instead of having to order it online as I did.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-04-14

The little Tv that could!! YOU GO 4K! thanks for saving me money!!

I've had this tv for about 2 months now, and you just cant beat the price!! first of all its a great size! but I am going to point out the things that don't really impress me first. For 1.. the remote is just a remote.. its nothing fancy, but it does the job. (on/off/ sound/ picture/source. etc etc.) #2. don't expect a ton of customization features for the in screen tv menu, that is also very simplified. You can do some adjusting of colors and picture format, you can select vivid, user, and I think 2 other picture settings. The manual is also very simple, takes you like 3 minutes to glance over it and you'll know what you need to know, and the speakers are unimpressive.

Now the positive experience!! It's LIGHT AS A FEATHER!! I don't know if its just cheap material or what but It's not going to weigh what you might expect it to. Now I'm not saying its a bad thing, I was pleasantly surprised that I could manage to mount it on my wall with out any help. Now as far as the 4k goes. So far I've only been able to upsacle it to 4k at 30hz. Which to be honest still looks fantastic!! I just haven't had the time to really look into how to get it at the 60hz range. I do want to point out something though, I tried watching the 4k content on netflix off my ps4 and apple tv and frankly I was unimpressed and thought I had bought a lemon!!. it was showing at only 1080p at 60hz. One day I decided to hook up my gaming desktop to it,(the desktop claimed to be 4k ready) which by the way fit to the screen perfectly. To my surprise again, picture was now scaling to 4k!! course all the lettering was small and I had to adjust that just to make it so i wasn't sitting with my nose to the screen!! I played some netflix from the web browser and the 4k content was now actually in 4k!! mind you still at 30hz. but it was a very nice improvement over the 1080p I opened up World of Warcraft to play some games on the tv, IT TOO UPSCALED TO 4K!

2015-04-08

Best purchase I've made in a long time!

I studied this set before purchasing and feel like I got everything I asked for. I'm perfectly happy with the performance, the ROKU stick works like a champ and it was very easy to set up. The stand appears flimsy in the photos, but is actually very strong and stable being made out of powder coated steel. I tweaked some of the picture settings for my needs and am very impressed with picture. There isn't much 4K UHD stuff to take advantage of yet, but I use a digital antennae to get 20 channels, have my ROKU, Amazon Prime movies and DVD player. The over the air channels come in crisp and clear, although some only broadcast in 480i. The 60Hz refresh rate causes no problems at all. I've had this set for almost 3 weeks now without a single problem. The shipment arrived at my home sooner than expected, the packaging was in great shape and everything inside was completely intact and without any damage. This set replaced a nice Toshiba 40" that went into my guest bedroom and outshines it. This is the second SCEPTRE set I've purchase and have had zero problems from either. I've seen a few complaints on these ratings, but I can't find a one with what I've received. Fir the price and better, you can't go wrong with this

2015-04-08

Best purchase I've made in a long time!

I studied this set before purchasing and feel like I got everything I asked for. I'm perfectly happy with the performance, the ROKU stick works like a champ and it was very easy to set up.

Derek15 2015-04-04

Awesome tv!!!!

We bought this tv over Christmas from Wal-mart on line. I had bought a 32in w/dvd player for my grand-daughters room and love it!! They take pride in what they do, and they do it very well. I will continue to buy this brand. The picture is great, the sound is great. It is a great all around tv for the price!!!!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
bruce43 2015-04-04

Great picture!

Everything is great. It is thinner and lighter than my previous TV and has UHD. Even without specific 4k content, the picture is much better. Plus, I am all ready for 4k content when it comes out later this year. Since it is an LED TV, I can see the screen better despite sunshine from my window reflecting off of the surface of the TV as compare to my old TV.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Blissdish 2015-04-04

Gorgeous, light, thin, clear

Loved our 32" Sceptre for 14 years. When it wouldn‘t power on, didn‘t hesitate to get this 49". Lovely, makes me want to re-watch everything

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Brand

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Brill55 2015-04-04

Gorgeous, light, thin, clear

Loved our 32" Sceptre for 14 years. When it wouldn‘t power on, didn‘t hesitate to get this 49". Lovely, makes me want to re-watch everything

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Briguy 2015-04-04

Great TV

Customer service was great they sent me a replacement remote but other than that this has been a great TV for me. Installed in a public area I have heard nothing but compliments from everyone coming in contact with it.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
KeithG 2015-04-01

Great TV at a great price!

Bought this TV through Walmart.com, waited 2 weeks for delivery to store, box came with a large hole courtesy of the trucking company (Walmart?). But TV inside was OK. The picture is outstanding, the sound needs help due to the size of the speakers, but this is true of all flat panel TV‘s. That‘s why there are sound bars and surround sound systems! I like that the TV has a black frame to match the glass screen. But the picture is really what it‘s all about, and this picture is GREAT!!! Love that Sceptre is an American company, too! Already had a 32" Sceptre so was familiar with the company. Oh, also like the menu and selections options and the way they‘re set up. Did not need any fiddling or adjustments, the picture was spot-on right out of the box!!! Just hooked up my HD cable feed and sound bar and VOILA! Would buy another Sceptre anytime!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
felixladines1 2015-03-27

GREAT SCEPTRE U5O UHD TV

I BOUGT THIS ITEM ON MARCH 22, 2015

Number of TVYes

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Vulcan750 2015-03-25

So Far Great Value and Picture

Just that the sales people at these distributers are schooled in the product differences. I was comparing the U500CV-UMK & the U508CV-UMK. I was told they both have the same features but the 508 had better components , so I was willing to pay a little more for better components. When I received the TV it was a U500CV-UMK. I was going to complain but then I saw and was told by TigerDirect, about the $100 rebate so I was happy. I also wish you had some 4K content preloaded, even if it was just a screen saver. Cant find much if any thats available. Tv looks slightly better and Video games look much better. Im sure when I can see real 4K , I will be very pleased at the value of the purchase. The Tv itself looks nice also, very nice frame and very light, I set it up by myself with ease!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
djacobga 2015-03-22

Exceptional value

I got this TV to use as a monitor, but found that my laptop could not display using the units highest resolution (cheap work laptop). The picture quality is superb at any resolution, but really great at UHD. The sound is OK, not great., but for the price, this TV is the best value on the market by far.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Dell 2015-03-15

excellent UHDTV.

Great tv for picture quality sound and overall features. I can‘t say anything more.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Brand

Know Sceptre?Other

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-03-08

An Awesome Picture at a bargain price

I just want to say I am now the proud owner of a SCEPTRE TV for good reason. They make a superb product at an unbelievable price ! I made the RIGHT CHOICE and have no regrets buying this TV.

Al D 2015-03-07

A superb TV at a bargain price

I just bought this TV through Walmart online. First they shipped me the wrong TV. Walmart sent me a JVC TV instead. I went through a nightmare trying to send the JVC back to them. Spent hours on the phone etc. They re-sent the correct TV 3 days later. But what a hassle to get this JVC back to them, it ook 2 days and hours on the phone. Now for this Sceptre - U500CV -UMK TV. I have owned a Vizio Plazma TV for the past 7 years. I decided to give it to my son for his bedroom and try out a new 4K Ultra HD TV. I searched a lot of the electronic outlet stores, viewing a lot of TV brands, many regular HD models and all of the new 4K UHD models. The ones I saw that I liked were just too way out of my price range, over 1000.00 and even higher. Then I was surfing the web one evening, and noticed this Sceptre Brand TV on the Walmart website. Too be quite honest I have NEVER heard of this brand, so I was very skeptical whether to order it or not. The 449.00 price tag was just too hard to pass up, and for a 4K UHD TV ?? I did some research, looking for reviews and found plenty both on Amazon and also on the Walmart website. A few were not very good reviews and many were excellent. I noticed that many of the bad reviews mostly were pertaining to the picture. I did NOT see any reviews regarding any technical problems. I was torn between buying this and the 698.00 Vizio P502ui 50" 4K UHD. The reason I ordered the Sceptre is because the Vizio had so many bad reviews of it breaking down and not working and people sending it back. I did not want a TV with technical problems no matter how hi - tech it is ie. full array back lit 64 zones etc. So I decided to purchase this Sceptre TV. It arrived yesterday afternoon. I set it up in a flash. Love the stand it comes with. IT is a simple design and yet highly effective. Extremely sturdy and a work of art !! Once I got it all hooked up to my Home surround stereo system, Sony cordless headphones, and my DVD - Blu Ray player. I turned this

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
gbfreak 2015-03-03

Excellent no frills 4k TV

I just bought this last week. This TV is an exceptional deal. I replaced a 60in 1080p and I already have a ROKU streaming box, so I don‘ t need a smart TV. This was the right choice. 4k content is in it‘s infancy. It‘s scarce and still developing. But this TV is a great investment on the future. Everything is automatically upconverted right now an it looks great. The default settings are‘t great on this TV, but you have total control over the picture on this unit. You can enhance it to your taste. The build quality is solid. The picture is brilliant. It isn‘t a smart tv, but I already have streaming and audio so I basically use it as a monitor. Even though it‘s only 60hz, it‘s fluid and pretty pure. There‘s only been a couple of times where I‘ve seen blur. Streaming and cable content are very vivid and look good. But play a Blu Ray and you will be blown away! Invest in this TV and you will not regret it. You will be ready for the future.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2015-03-01

4k heaven

I purchased this tv through walmart for 499.99 i must say excellent tv all around. I noticed things i never have before like in the avengers the crust on nick fury (Samuel Jackson) lips. Everything looks more crisp and more real and sound is pretty fn amazing too. The glare can be extreme so watching in a dark room is best and utilize a thick curtain as well. I don't know what's up with the other reviewer who said the picture quality was bad because that's so not true. I highly recommend this tv i hope iy last forever.

2015-02-28

Worth every penny

4k content is in it's infancy. It's scarce and still developing. But this TV is a great investment on the future. Everything is automatically upconverted right now an it looks great. The default settings are't great on this TV, but you have total control over the picture on this unit. You can enhance it to your taste. The build quality is solid. The picture is brilliant. It isn't a smart tv, but I already have streaming and audio so I basically use it as a monitor.

Frank 2015-02-13

TV has Great Features

We have owned this TV for only a few weeks & we‘re hooked. There is no going back to regular HD. For the price it can‘t be beat.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
BVTest 2015-02-11

BVTestBVTestBVTestBVTestBVTest

BVTestBVTestBVTestBVTestBVTestBVTestBVTestBVTest

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
matthewca 2015-02-10

excellent TV!!!!!!!

I purchased this TV little over 60 days ago, I was just about to get the 50 inch 1080p, but I saw this one on sale at walmart.com for only $30 more, so I said, why not? It really didn‘t help knowing the layout of Sceptre TVs, as I also own a 32 inch 720p model color which has performed flawlessly and I have not seen any 4k concert yet, Full HD looks awesome on the TV. The sound we do something to be desired, but everything else is just awesome! For whatever informational purposes, if you are trying to pair your cable box remote, try Sony‘s remote control codes :-)

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
freeze_1 2015-02-06

A great buy

Better than what I expected. I bought this tv two days ago so it might be a little to early to comment on it but the picture quality is amazing. The sound quality isn‘t anything to brag about so I hooked it up to my sound system, much better.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
beelee 2015-01-13

very pleased

I took a chance on scepter. I knew no one who had one to give me any advice yea or nay. I am very pleased with it. Picture is beautiful and as clear as any other brands I have seen.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
TV adict 2015-01-12

Great TV

For the price is a great TV, until now zero problems, we will see in a couple of months.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Bronco 2015-01-01

Nice TV for 4K UHD

Easy setup, nice picture even though I don‘t have 4K programming yet. This was an upgrade from a 720p tv I have. So far, so good.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
conniegil 2014-12-28

Excellent picture.

The picture is fantastic. Shipping and arrival was great. Big negative is the sound quality. The sound was of such poor quality, no matter which input I used. I finally bought a sound bar to make it acceptable.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
MS39157 2014-12-28

Great value for a basic 4K TV

Full-screen media (without black bars) looks great on the U500. To see pixels you need to get your face practically on the screen. Up-scaling works very well, I have played many DVDs, as well as Blu-Rays, and they all look great. I‘m using a Sony blu-ray player, which works nicely with the Sceptre remote codes. If you need a perfect picture you should spend more on a TV with localized dimming and higher contrast ratios. On the U500 you will see back-lighting glare on blacks, which is particularly noticeable on media with black bars. The U500 also has a contrast ratio of only 1200:1 (so you will sometimes see banding in sky images). I‘m using all three HDMI ports. CEC works with my blu-ray player - turn on the blu-ray player, and the TV turns on and switches to the HDMI port. Another one or two ports would be helpful for future growth, especially with the component video ports being shared with the composite video port (which is very common on TVs these days). I have a Wii hooked up using the composite video, and the Wii picture looks great. I also have a leaf antenna connected to the co-ax input, and over-the-air digital signals look great too. The USB port is ...to be honest... almost a joke. It is limited to 2GB. These days you‘d be hard-pressed to find a USB stick under 8GB! It also only plays JPG pictures and MP3 music. It would be nice if a firmware upgrade would enhance this, but I suspect the TV‘s processor can‘t support MPG video, or more than 2GB. The sound from the TV is acceptable, and has adequate volume. I also bought a Sceptre sound bar, since I got the TV at such a good price on Black Friday, and my biggest gripe is that the U500 has a SPDIF optical output (red laser), but the soundbar only has a SPDIF co-ax input. So I‘m left with using the TV "line-out" to feed the sound bar. It does improve the sound, but I would expect the SPDIF to do better. Anyway, that is an issue with the sound bar, and not the TV. Overall,

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product
drewchadwick 2014-12-26

Wow, fantastic

I bought this just so the wife could have larger screen in her bed room- suffice to say I traded her my Sony for it. This is the best value in electronics today! Does everything it is advertised to do at a great cost. Best of all, it is LIGHT, much lighter than you might think- but not flimsy! The powder-coated steel halo stand is also a work of art! Now, looking for 4k content to test on it... any suggestions? I have a Google Chromecast and while the HD images are great (needed to turn down the contrast out of the box, but rest is ok!) I really want to see it in 4k! Highly recommended to literally everyone who just wants a large TV.. why not get 4K for less than a HD set..... Cheers, Sceptre!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2014-12-24

Perhaps that person got a bad unit because the one I bought (from a different ...

Couldn't disagree more with the other review written above this one. Perhaps that person got a bad unit because the one I bought (from a different vendor) is absolutely STUNNING. Not to mention I paid only $400 for it to boot. I have other large 1080p high quality tvs, and this one is even better than they are on 1080p content. While there isn't a lot of 4k content yet, the samples I've tried on it are phenomenal.

Over time more and more 4k will become available and I'm excited to be able to watch it when it does. It was well beyond my expectations, especially for such a low price.

UHD Happy 2014-12-18

WOW. Great TV.

I‘ve had this 4K a week now. Even though 4K content is limited at this time. This TV is ready ! It has HDMI 2.0 ready to go. A lot of additional options to connect. Blu-Ray,xbox, Wii, Roku. I‘ve researched so many TV‘s and company‘s. And was hard not to go with a major brand. But so glad I chose SCEPTRE. They are awesome. I will recommend at every chance. Did I say I have a 4K TV ?! So cool. Picture is great. Sound is good. Connected a sound bar. Even better.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
matthewca 2014-12-17

Beautiful picture

Beautiful picture and easy to set up.

Number of TVYes

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
schak 2014-12-16

great tv

very happy to have purchased this on black friday. now to find the 4k content.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
CaRailRoadGuy 2014-12-16

Great 4K TV, and priced right!

This TV is a hidden gem, beautiful picture in FHD and UHD, looks great, priced right, and has features some more expensive models.and brands don‘t, like HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2. I got this online from Walmart, and I am more than pleased with it. You could pay more for less, but why would you do that?

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Brand

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
MUNCHKIN 2014-12-12

GREAT UNIT

PAYED $399 FOR THIS TV. IT IS SUPER GREAT. COLOR AND CLARITY IS THE BEST I HAVE SEEN OUT OF LOW END TV‘S. YOU CAN‘T GOWRONG. OTHERS IN ITS CLASS COST A THOUSAND DOLLARS OR MORE. SCEPTRE IS THE SAMSUNG OF 30 YEARS AGO. THEY WILL BE GOING PLACES.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
TheOne 2014-12-11

Good

Very Fragile. I hope the build quality was a little bit better. Image quality is Good,but needs a lot a adjustment to fine tune it to your liking. The sound on this TV is the best i have heard so far.great sound quality. The weight of is lighter than my 20‘‘ TV,very very light.

Number of TVYes

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Retail Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Jake16 2014-12-08

Great TV

Bought this a week ago and it works perfectly! Use my bluray player and Xbox and it works flawlessly. Picture is great very impressed!

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Design

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
nes2 2014-12-08

Very good TV for the price

Not only was this the cheapest 4k TV at 50" I could find, it has very good viewing angles than other TVs. This is particularly important if you‘re going to use the TV as a computer monitor. Also there is almost no back-light bleeding. With HDMI 1.4 output, it seems to do chroma 4:4:4 4k @ 30hz and 4:2:0 4k @ 60hz. Default color settings seem to be geared for showroom displays. Once I lowered the contrast and color it did very well on LCD pattern tests. This is a quality display at an affordable price.

Number of TVNo

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Evan 2014-11-23

Great TV

Surprised the family with this new flat screen... everyone is happy! Amazed at what we got for the price. Highly recommend.

Number of TVYes

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Search Engine

Quality of Product
Value of Product