C248B-144RN

24" Curved Gaming Monitor

  • 1920 x 1080 Full HD Resolution
  • Up to 144Hz Refresh Rate
  • 3ms Fast Response Time
  • AMD FreeSyncTM Compatible
  • 2 x HDMI, 1 x DisplayPort, 1 x Audio Out Jack
Bazaar Voice Logo

TOP POSITIVE REVIEW

By Mike K On June 20 22:05:00, 2019

I bought two C248B-144RN monitors to go with a new video card (Radeon RX 580) that supports FreeSync. They were easy to set up, no dead pixels, super thin and have a beautiful picture. The only problem I have with these is they advertise as “edgeless” which they are not. They do have a very thin bezel, but the picture does not go completely to the side. When I put them side to side, there is still approximately ¾ inch black space between them. Not a deal breaker for me, but could be for others. For 144 Hz curved, full LED with FreeSync for around $160, you just can’t beat these displays!

Reviews

Rating Snapshot

  • 5
    16
  • 4
    2
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Average Customer Ratings

  • Overall
    4.89
  • Quality of Product
    4.94
  • Value of Product
    5

     

?
SORT BY:
Mike K 2019-06-20

Best bang for your buck!

I bought two C248B-144RN monitors to go with a new video card (Radeon RX 580) that supports FreeSync. They were easy to set up, no dead pixels, super thin and have a beautiful picture. The only problem I have with these is they advertise as “edgeless” which they are not. They do have a very thin bezel, but the picture does not go completely to the side. When I put them side to side, there is still approximately ¾ inch black space between them. Not a deal breaker for me, but could be for others. For 144 Hz curved, full LED with FreeSync for around $160, you just can’t beat these displays!

Number of TV

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
2019-05-17

As advertised

What was expected.

2019-05-17

Just get it

The stand is a bit shaky but amazing quality overall
And definitely best monitor for the price

2019-05-16

Games and movies, come alive

Outstanding performance for a refurbished monitor. Only downside, unable to achieve 144hz with HDMI 2.0 high speed cable. No problem with display port. Did not purchase for built in speakers, but for picture quality.

2019-05-15

Good and inexpensive option

Bought for our son to use for gaming. He loves it

2019-05-14

Best monitor for this price range

Curved 144hz for under $200 is steal. Beautiful picture quality would recommend

2019-05-14

Awesome monitor looks great!

Awesome product would recommend to anyone that doesn’t want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on a monitor, would have given it 5 stars but it was a bit tricky to get it too 144Hz over hdmi but I eventually got it working

2019-05-13

Delivery faster

Excellent

2019-05-11

Great

I have had this for 2 months now no dead pixels, works great nice curve and a sturdy base problem gonna buy a second to duel monitor!

2019-05-09

Great monitor!

had it for a day now and it runs 144hz on my GTX1060 fine! needs some calibrating after being plugged but ez fix, great beginner gaming monitor for gamers on a budget

reply for an update if youre curious about the condition, maybe this will break on me after a little while

2019-05-07

Best monitor on Amazon for gaming

Love this monitor, works great, looks good, very slim design, picture quality is good, colors take some time to get accustom to but really not a big deal. The absolute best thing about this monitor: there is no cap for over clocking, take that however you want but this thing will crank 240hz all day no bs

2019-05-02

CHEAPEST 144HZ MONITOR OUT THERE

bought this because i knew the upgrade from 60hz would be worth it over the decade of use ill get out of this.

this thing is GREAT but ill list the negatives first:
-lacking in picture quality (compared to anything IPS panel)
-curve is very subtle and i dont notice it at all (arguably good because i didnt want it curved anyway)
-speakers have a rather low maximum volume, often not being loud enough at max

now the pros:
+cheapest 144hz monitor out there, period
+easy setup/installation, even comes with a decent mag tip philips screwdriver that ill be using on my pc in the future
+did i mention how cheap this thing is? its crazy. any 144hz IPS monitor will easily cost you double this

overall: if you arent a stickler for picture quality and perfect color etc but youre still trying to game, this is the solution.

2019-05-01

Great picture for the cost

Great picture

2019-05-01

Fast, Curved, 144Hz, Edge design, VA panel budget gaming build must have!

This 24" curved VA panel looks really good after playing with the colors and settings. Buttery smooth 144Hz is yours on either the DP (cable included) or HDMI 2.0 and it is amazing just like everyone says. The logo on the back glows red and the system menu is ok but not bad. The stand is very sturdy and has a good snug tilting mechanism. The bezels are a tad wider than your led to believe but still not bad. It does have speakers but they are not great. There is only one screen protector and it peels off very easy. The other layer is the antiglare layer. Everything but the stand is plastic but If $159 gets you a clean 24" curved, 144Hz, 3ms, egde design, VA panel in a solid package then this is worth plugging into any budget gaming build.

2019-04-30

Happy with it

Great product

2019-04-28

This monitor is the best bang for your buck.

This monitor is all I could ask for it has amazing specs for the price, couldn't ask for something better for the price!!

Nicky Mase 2019-04-06

Great Price to Performance!

Okay lets get this straight, you‘re buying a gaming monitor for under 200 dollars, so don‘t expect all the bells and whistles... Well having said that, this is a pretty darn good panel for the price and the performance. I haven‘t color calibrated everything to my liking yet so I will most likely write another review later on. Having bought monitors from Sceptre before I can honestly say they are solid and deliver what you can expect from a company that has a stable history in selling computer screens. Out of the box which was pretty impressively packed came the monitor stand, instant liking to the matte black metal which feels sturdy right from the get go. All screws were provided for the mount and the base, and were easy to assemble with the provided screw driver, Sceptre you get big points for this because sometimes you just can‘t find the right screw driver or maybe some folks just don‘t have one at all. So kudos to you. Now onto the panel, which was lovingly wrapped with a fun screen protector that is always fun to peel, c‘mon you have to love the peel. So getting everything together was a snap and although a little wobbly if you accidentally hit the sides of the screen, well it‘s going to happen with these types of stands, so not much worries because it will hold up the screen and durably so. When turning on the screen it went right to the brilliantly red Sceptre text and there was my computer, icons all over the place but then again I had the much smaller and much cheaper Sceptre 20" 75Hz screen which did the job until I forked over the cash for this beast. So after some tweaks to icons, color settings and so on I finally found the somewhat comfort zone with this panel, which is still an adventure but gaming is a beast on this thing. Remember to set Freesync to ON in your monitor settings and graphics settings, via windows and your graphics software. Make sure you select 144Hz using the display port(Recommended) or HDM

Number of TV

Why Sceptre?Brand

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product
Bob eWan Kenobi 2019-03-29

Great Budget 144hz Monitor

The setup was quite easy. Two screws into the back of the monitor and two more into the stand was all it took, a Phillips screwdriver was included. To take advantage of the 144hz, you must make the change in the Windows 10 settings menu. Once done, the text is crisp and the mouse movement is fluid. To take advantage of AMD FreeSync, that too must be turned on in the monitor settings as well as the AMD Control Panel. Using an AMD rx580, I found the Free Sync to be wonderful. I was able to leave all VSync off, letting the variable refresh rate operate unimpeded. I used AMD Chill to keep the refresh rate withing the FreeSync range. Playing Apex Legends, I fluctuated between 80 and 120 fps, but game remained very smooth with zero tearing. The 144hz is immediately noticeable. Once you try it, you‘ll never be able to go back to 60hz, it‘s that drastic. The monitor has a plethora of advanced calibration settings: gamma, temperature, red, green, blue, yellow, cyan, magenta. Plus several pre-sets. The movie setting was quite saturated, but crushed the black levels. I found the FPS pre-setting pretty good. I also found the default color slightly bluish-green, I lowered both of those several ticks. I also lowered the gamma from 2.2 to 1.8 and set the temperature to normal, which appears to be 6500k. With a little tweaking, the colors can be quite good. With professional calibration, I‘m sure they could be great. I found this monitor to be excellent for gaming and very good for the price. 24" inches is a good size for 1080 and I enjoy the curve to the display. I would recommend this monitor to anyone wanting to move up to 144hz.

Number of TV

Why Sceptre?Price

Know Sceptre?Online Stores

Quality of Product
Value of Product